My Own Personal Time Capsule

I recently was cleaning and found a collection of journals. These rage from late 7th grade up until now ( I think I keep at least 3 paper journals with me). I love the ability to capture a thought or an idea and not letting it slip away. Often I’ve found these ideas come to me at the most inopportune times. The most frequent being when I’m in the middle of a mundane task or right when I begin to fall asleep. Many of these ideas I would have forgotten had I not written them down.

 

As I thumbed through journals, notebooks, scraps of paper, I found that I’ve been making a log of my life for years. It is so interesting how quickly time passes. When I read what I wrote I feel I can almost go back there. But I know I can’t, but I captured it the best way I knew how.

 

If you don’t journal or keep a diary, I’d encourage you to. It does’t need to be flowery or filled with deep emotions. Much of what I write is “technical” the facts of what happened. You might also find out that you aren’t as comfortable or open with yourself as you may have thought. It really is an eye opening experience. And who knows, maybe one day you’ll push the lid off a dusty box and find you’ve uncovered your own personal time capsule.

 

 

Leave a Reply

