Sitting

So as I write this I am sitting in the library. I got here a little too early and rather than studying biology I feel like writing a little bit. First let me say that the weather outside is perfect writing weather. Its interesting how the weather can inspire you to write or think a certain way. Like when it rains you can’t help but be thoughtful. When its sunny, you can’t help but being cheerful.

Interestingly enough, for the weekend before finals, the library is surprisingly empty. I expected not to be able to find a space anywhere. School has taken up a good part of my time, but it feels nice to have some classes out of the way. Often I’m not sure how to look at school. Often I feel I should savor it, but on the other hand I just want to finish and be done already. Often I find that I get so focused on school that I forget other things that are important to me. Such as reading, or music. Fun reading has been neglected since about September, which is very sad. Music is tricky. Have I picked up an instrument since school has started, yes. Has it been just for fun, no. Well any type of music is fun, mostly I have been working with groups on Christmas music. Thursday was the first time in a long time I just played what I felt like and sang as loud as I wanted. This was mainly due to the fact that I was home alone.

At times its hard to say that my life does not revolve around school, when it feels like it does. In many ways I have had to step back and look at what I’m doing and ask myself if this is worth it. The world we live in is a dangerous place. You are not promised tomorrow. I often lie awake wondering would I be okay if the world fell apart tomorrow. Had I said everything I wanted to my family. Have I made good use of the time I was given. Have I told my friends what they mean to me. Often people don’t think about these things until its too late.

So during this time of Christmas, I hope that you take the time to reflect on what you have.   Use this time to get closer to your family and friends. Look at the things that rule your life. You might be surprised what you find.

As I still sit here in the library I cannot help but look outside. The wind and the rain make it impossible not to reflect on my life at this point. I hope that were ever you are you will reflect a little bit too.

Leave a Reply

